• Join The Party!

      Committee Meetings

      Chatham County Democratic Committee meetings are traditionally held monthly on the fourth Wednesday at 6 p.m. (except for December the 3rd Wednesday) on the 3rd Floor of the McKelvey-Powell Building, 714 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Savannah. (corner of Gwinnett Street & Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd.).


      All elected members of the Chatham County Democratic Committee are expected to be in attendance. Declared members of the Democratic Party of Chatham County are welcome to attend. Also, prospective members of the Democratic Party of Chatham County are also encouraged to attend and declaration forms may be completed on-site.


      We cordially invite you to join us, let your voice be heard, and become actively involved and engaged in making a positive change in our community! Contributing to your community means you can serve your fellow citizens, your neighbors, by helping to shape our local government's public policies.


      The Chatham County Democratic Committee, alongside the Democratic Party of Chatham County, helps to advise County Democrats about voting wisely, updating citizens about public policy changes, responds to calls-to-action, and identifies and recruits qualified Democratically-minded candidates to run for public office.


      Currently, all Committee meetings are held virtually through Zoom.

      If you wish to attend, you must be on the Committee's Mailing List to receive the invitation.

      2021 Meeting Schedule (Subject To Change)

      January 27 – Committee General Meeting

      February - District Community Meetings*

      March 24 - Democratic County Leaders

      April - District Community Meetings*

      May 26 - General Meeting

      June - District Community Meetings*

      July 28 - Committee General Meeting

      August - District Community Meetings*

      September 21 - Committee General Meeting

      October - District Community Meetings*

      November 24 - Committee General Meeting

      December 15 - Committee General Meeting


      * Contact your District Captain for meeting information.

      About the McKelvey-Powell Building

      The McKelvey-Powell Building was originally constructed in 1926. The building was a hub of African-American business and social life in Savannah during the era of segregation in the first half of the twentieth century. Throughout the 1930s the McKelvey-Powell Building was a popular venue for both local music talent and nationally recognized performers. During World War II the building housed a USO center for black soldiers. Afterward, the West Broad Street YMCA operated in the building until the 1960s. It was later renovated, and dedicated in August 2003 as a community resource center under the guidance of Pastor Bennie R. Mitchell, Jr. and the Connor’s Temple Baptist Church congregation. Erected by the Georgia Historical Society and Connor’s Temple Baptist Church in 2005.


      Source: On-Site Historic Marker.


    • Meet The Committee

      Executive Committee Officers

      Chair - James "Jay" Jones
      First Vice-Chair - Patrick Kelsey (2nd District)
      Second Vice-Chair - Tomeca McPherson (2nd District)

      Secretary - Gabrielle Nelson (8th District)

      Treasurer - Orlando Scott (7th District)

      District Captains

      1st District - Nick Savas
      2nd District - Samanthis Smalls
      3rd District - Takisha Gates
      4th District - Marilyn Michaels
      5th District - Carl Murray
      6th District - Aaron "Adot" Whitely
      7th District - Orlando Scott
      8th District - Julius Hall


      State - Honorable Derrick Mallow
      County - Honorable Aaron 'Adot" Whitely
      Savannah - Honorable Alicia Miller-Blakely
      Pooler - Honorable Thomas Hutcherson
      Garden City - Honorable Richard Lassiter
      Port Wentworth - Honorable Thomas Barbee
      Thunderbolt - TBD
      Tybee Island - TBD
      Bloomingdale - TBD
      Unincorporated - TBD
      DPG/DNC - James "Jay" Jones
      Neighborhood - TBD

      Committees & Special Interests

      Budget And Finance - TBD
      Charter And By Laws - TBD
      Communication - TBD
      County Affairs - TBD
      Education - TBD
      Facilities - TBD
      Membership - TBD
      Strategic Planning - TBD

      Task Forces

      Get Out The Vote - TBD
      Election Integrity - TBD

      African American - TBD
      Environment - TBD
      Senior - TBD
      Veterans - TBD
      Women - TBD
      Youth Outreach - TBD

      Georgia State Delegates

      Claudia Collier

      John Haden

      James "Jay" Jones
      Marilyn Michaels

      Vicki Weeks

      Aaron "Adot" Whitely

    • Elected Committee Members

    All Posts